Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears

Set in farming country in rural New South Wales, this novel tells the story of the Nancarrow family and the show jumping circuit in this area. Ultimately an epically sad novel about the hopes and dreams of youth being shattered by the reality of life. All is disillusionment.

I had looked forward to this book with such relish, They hype surrounding it was phenomenal. I found that despite being an avid horse lover, this book was an arduous task- one that had to be completed so that I could make some small contribution to our Australian Book Club. Needless to say, I celebrated when I finally completed it.

I was,however, the only person in our group not to have enjoyed it. Other members of the club, reveled in the prose, its powerful story and the connection with the land. For me,Image this reading experience was mind-numbingly boring. I found the dialogue hard to follow. For me, the best feature of the book was its silky cover.

 

7 thoughts on “Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears

  1. Thanks for your review. It’s difficult sometimes to be honest about disliking about a book that everyone else raves about. For example, I absolutely hated the prize-winning Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantell (I forced myself to get halfway through), whereas so many of my friends adored it. It just goes to show how subjective it is.

    • It is pretty difficult to voice an opinion other than that shared by numerous others. It always leaves me with a feeling that I haven’t quite understood or I have missed something. That is the wonder of reading though.

  2. Yes, I agree. After reading half of Wolf Hall and wondering if there was something wrong with me because I didn’t get it, I read some reviews on Amazon and discovered there were a lot of people who felt the same way. It helped to validate my opinion. Strangely enough, I’m now curious to read Foal’s Bread, but I’ll probably borrow it from the library.

  3. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it but glad that you were honest about your feelings. Thanks for sharing your review!

Leave a Reply

